Listen now to the audio portrait of our spring concert series, Site : Sound.

LISTEN

Follow us on:

LISTEN

Listen now to the audio portrait of our spring concert series, Site : Sound.

LISTEN

Primal Screams Zine Fest



Paper Cuts field team Christopher Kardambikis, Christina Long, and Arno Mokros roam the Paper Jam Fest-organized zine fair at Primal Screams --an event featuring underground bands and video premieres, and presented in collaboration between Clocktower and Times Square Arts at a massive movie theater in Times Square on March 15, 2016.

Christopher Kardambikis seeks an absurd mythology for the future through drawings, prints, and books. Recently, he completed two years of his Book-a-Month project - playing with the book form while experimenting with materials, process, and space. He has co-founded three artist book and zine projects: Encyclopedia Destructica in Pittsburgh, Gravity and Trajectory in San Diego, and 90 Proof Press in Los Angeles. Christopher has been an artist-in residence at The Art Students League, Vermont Studio Center, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, the Millay Colony, Pioneer Works, and the Pittsburgh Center of the Arts. He received his BFA from Carnegie Mellon University and MFA from the University of California, San Diego.

Born in Chicago and raised in Metro Detroit, Christina Long received her MFA in Printmaking from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in 2012 and is also a violinist for NYC's New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra. Being heavily involved in the Metal community for over a decade, she cares about promoting the many women of color who love heavy music genres. #HeavyGirlsLoveHeavyMusic

Arno Mokros is a writer and contributor to Paper Cuts. Informed by the personal as political, his zines often incorporate confessional writing and social commentary. He writes about queerness, visual culture, and how histories are written. He is currently at work on a long-term writing project interrogating the continuity of "self" through time and is developing a project interweaving personal diary, oral histories, and gonzo journalism, which explores identity, family, belonging, and symbolic geographies of homeland. He graduated from Smith College in 2013, and currently lives in Brooklyn.

ZINEFEST PARTICIPANTS include:

Paper Jam - http://paperjamfest.tumblr.com/
Mary Shyne - http://maryshyne.com/
Kat Fajardo - http://www.katfajardo.com/
Vreni Stollberger - http://www.stillvreni.com/
Hazel Newleavant - http://newlevant.com/
Stephanie Mannheim - http://www.stephaniemannheim.com/portfolio/
The Bettys - http://www.thebettys.com/
Mike Taylor - http://late-era-clash.tumblr.com/
Alabaster Pizzo - http://www.alabasterpizzo.com/
Robert Richburg - http://www.robertrichburg.com/
Suxy X - https://suzyx.wordpress.com/
AT Pratt - http://atpratt.net/
Suffragette City Magazine - http://www.suffragettezine.com/
Fvck the Media - http://www.fvckthemedia.com/
Paper Cuts - http://clocktower.org/series/paper-cuts